Summaries and Explanations of New Mexico Homeschooling Laws
Colorado Department of Education Home School Information
Public School Access for Homeschoolers in Colorado
Children participating in a non-public, home-based education program are allowed equal access to the public school’s extracurricular and interscholastic activities according to Colorado Revised Statutes § 22-33-104.5(6) and Colorado Revised Statutes § 22-32-116.5.
Special Education Provisions for Colorado: Regulations and Resources for Your Special Needs Homeschool
If you are homeschooling a child with special needs, you need to follow your state’s homeschool regulations. There are no additional requirements for homeschooling children with special needs.
The Importance of Recordkeeping in Colorado: Best Practices for What Records to Keep
Good records equip your student with proof of education for continuing their education, entering the military, or passing an employer’s background check. It may also prove valuable if there are ever any questions about your homeschool.
Colorado Homeschool Law - A Summary
Home Schools Overview
How to Homeschool in Colorado
This how to begin homeschooling guide is presented by CHEC, Christian Home Educators of Colorado. It details the basics, with the first steps for you to take and lots of great information to get started homeschooling in Colorado.
CHEC Homeschool Guidebook for Colorado
Need a map for your homeschooling journey in Colorado? This classic go-to compendium used by countless families in Colorado is now completely updated and streamlined for you. The CHEC Homeschool Guidebook will give you tons of practical information, worksheets, resource lists, scriptural encouragement, and more – just what you need to homeschool in Colorado with confidence.
Compulsory School Age in Colorado
Colorado law requires that every child who is 6 years old on or before August 1 of the current school year, and under the age of 17, must attend school. If a homeschool is operating under Colorado’s home education statute (Option 1), the parents may wait to begin actual instruction until their child is 7 years old; however, they must still submit a notice of intent beginning with the school year that the child turns 6 by August 1.
Colorado Home School Laws
Definition of Homeschooling in New Mexico
New Mexico Home School Laws from HSLDA
Home Schools - Frequently Asked Questions
How to Withdraw Your Child from School in Colorado
If you want to start homeschooling during the school year and your child is currently enrolled in a public or private school, you may formally withdraw your child from that school. If you are going to start homeschooling after the school year is over, and your child is considered enrolled for the following year, we recommend that you withdraw your child before the next school year begins, so that the school does not mark your child as absent or truant.
How to Comply with Colorado's Homeschool Law
In Colorado, there are three options under which you can legally homeschool. You are free to choose the option that best meets your family’s needs. These options include homeschooling under Colorado's homeschool statute, homeschooling with an independent school, and homeschooling with a certified teacher.
New Mexico Statutes Pertaining to Home Education
24-5-1. Immunization regulations.
Colorado Statutes - Complete Text
House Joint Resolution 05-1040
22-1-2.1. Home school; requirements.
A. within thirty days of its establishment, notify the state superintendent of the establishment of a home school within thirty days of its establishment and notify the state superintendent in writing on or before April 1 of each subsequent year of operation of the school district from which the home school is drawing students;
B. maintain records of student disease immunization or a waiver of that requirement; and
C. provide instruction by a person possessing at least a high school diploma or its equivalent.
Colorado Statute 25-4-902
Details of the state of Colorado requirements for immunizations.
Colorado Statute 22-33-104
Colorado Statute 25-4-901
This statute relates to state of Colorado school entry immunization requirements.
Colorado Statute 22-33-104.5
24-5-3. Exemption from immunization.
(1) a certificate of a duly licensed physician stating that the physical condition of the child is such that immunization would seriously endanger the life or health of the child; or
(2) affidavits or written affirmation from an officer of a recognized religious denomination that such child's parents or guardians are bona fide members of a denomination whose religious teaching requires reliance upon prayer or spiritual means alone for healing; or
(3) affidavits or written affirmation from his parent or legal guardian that his religious beliefs, held either individually or jointly with others, do not permit the administration of vaccine or other immunizing agent.
B. Upon filing and approval of such certificate, affidavits or affirmation, the child is exempt from the legal requirement of immunization for a period not to exceed nine months on the basis of any one certificate, affidavits or affirmation.
22-12-2. Compulsory school attendance; responsibility.
Colorado Statute 25-4-903 - Exemptions from Immunization - Rules
Regulations concerning exemptions from required immunizations in the state of Colorado.
Home School Laws from HSLDA
Colorado Statute 22-32-116.5
Case Law and Legal Opinions
Pierce v. Society of the Sisters of the Holy Names of Jesus and Mary
Guidelines for Combining Instruction at Home and School
In reference to the law cited above for students in grades 1-8, we generally interpret "one-half or more" to mean that the student attends the public school for at least 50% of the required instructional time as specified in law, Section 22-2-8.1, NMSA, 1978. Minimum course requirements are also defined in law, Section 22-2-8.3, A-F, NMSA, 1978, for grades 1-8.
For high school students, grades, 9-12, we interpret Section 22-2-8.4, NMSA, 1978, to require a planned course of study for all students leading to graduation. Relatedly, students should be enrolled in state required courses and approved electives leading to the fulfillment of graduation requirements.
Home school students who are also qualified public school students are subject to rules, regulations, rights, and policies that apply to public schools while attending the public school. While simultaneously participating as a home school student and a public school student, students may receive school credit for course work successfully completed through public school instruction, but not for instruction provided at home. Public schools are strongly encouraged to address any liability-related issues that may apply regarding service to home school students.
Students may also combine school instruction with home instruction in "Family Schools." Family Schools are programs that are approved by both the local and state boards of education as provided for under the Collaborative School Improvement Programs Act, Section 22-5-5.6, NMSA, 1978. Family school students are not registered home school students. They are qualified public school students enrolled in an alternative education program as approved by the State Board of Education. Because of the waiver authority available to the State Board of Education under the Collaborative School Improvement Programs Act, students in family schools may receive credit for instruction provided both at school and at home.
Procedures Manual for Home School Operators in New Mexico (pdf)
Home School Procedures for Public School Districts
Procedures Manual for Home School Operators in New Mexico (Word Document)
Procedures Manual for Home School Operators in New Mexico (html)
New Mexico Home School Achievement Test Guidelines
A. MUST arrange a place and time for testing home school students. The location may be outside the school building. The time must be within the state testing timeframe. Notification of the time and place must be provided to all home school operators by January 30.
B. MUST allow trained home school operators to be test administrators for home school students. When a home school operator(s) is unavailable or not interested, trained school personnel will administer the test. Home school operators other than the test administrator may be present to serve as proctors provided their presence does not disrupt the testing environment. Local school districts will provide training to home school operators on administering the test. The administration of the test to home school students must be monitored at the testing site by paid school employees during their regular working hours. (No more than 30 students should be grouped together for testing with one test administrator and one or two proctors.)
II. Each Home School Operator is Responsible for the Following:
A. Meeting the requirement of public school code: "Test students annually…as determined by the State Superintendent." (S-22-1-2.1)
B. Notifying the appropriate school staff if the student is unable to attend the scheduled testing.
C. Arranging with the school district an appropriate time and place for makeup testing.
III. General Guidelines:
A. All home school children in grades 4, 6, and 8 are required to participate in the state mandated New Mexico Achievement Assessment Program. This assessment is the only norm-referenced achievement test administered statewide to public school students which provides comparability information using national norms. No other statewide testing is required for home school student (The home school students will participate in the norm-referenced CTBS 5/TERRANOVA SURVEY PLUS only, and may opt to take all subjects or just the Reading/language and Mathematics tests within the battery).
B. If a school district assesses a fee, it is recommended that the fee not exceed the contractor's per student cost. Any additional costs associated with a special administration should be reasonable and justifiable.
C. Individual student score reports should be provided to the home school operator for each home school student who is tested.
D. Test answer sheets of home school students in grades 4,6, and 8 taking the required tests will be scored by the test contractor designated by the State Department of Education.
E. Home school students enrolled in grades 4, 6, and 8 who do not test and who are not exempt will be reported to the State Department of Education by the end of the school year. The Department will notify the local school district that the home school operator is in violation of the Statute 22-1-2.1 and the Compulsory School Attendance Law (S-22-12-1). In this event, school district policy should be followed as in the case of any other student who is in violation of this statute.
IV. Optional Testing Procedures
A. Home school operators with student enrolled in grades 4, 6, or 8 may elect to use the Bob Jones University Press (BJUP) testing service instead of testing their students through the New Mexico public schools. BJUP does not offer the CTBS tests. Therefore, the home school operator should request the Iowa Test of Basic Skills, Form L. It is the home school operator's responsibility to make these arrangements and to pay for this service. (By calling 1-800-845-5731 and asking for Customer Service, you may obtain detailed information.)
B. If using the BJUP testing service, it is the responsibility of the home school operator to notify the local school district testing office no later than January 15. This will help staff plan and budget for the year.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. We get commissions for purchases made through links on this site.